Yeovil Town Crier Competition

To contact the Town Crier please email - [email protected] 

Annual Town Criers Competition for 2024

David Recardo hosted his very first Competition as Yeovil’s new Town Crier on Saturday 20 April 2024.

A total of 11 Town Criers from far and wide came to Yeovil to keep up the ancient tradition of crying and compete in the Annual Competition. Each competitor performed their hometown cry in the first heat.  The second heat was a cry of their choice incorporating Wonders of Somerset in the presence of the Mayor, Cllr Andy Kendall.

Yeovil’s Best Crier for 2024 was awarded to Jeremy Holland from Cinderford.

David Recardo, Yeovil’s Town Crier would like to extend thanks to the Union Street Brasserie and to all the organisers and judges. Their hard work has once again made this a very successful event.

The results of the 2024 Yeovil Town Council Town Criers Competition are as follows:

Best Crier – 1st Jeremy Holland - Cinderford

Best Crier – 2nd John Collingwood - Bridport

Best Crier – 3rd Paul Gough - Nuneaton & Bedworth

Best Dressed Crier David Green - Torpoint

Best Dressed Escort Jan Nielsen - Bromyard and Winslow